, ,

The Long Road

In this week’s blog post, I will be discussing the “Long Road” pattern discussed in chapter 3 of “Apprenticeship Patterns: Guidance for the Aspiring Software Craftsman” by Dave Hoover and Adewale Oshineye. This week, I chose this topic for my blog post because I often worry about not being able to learn or grow more…

In this week’s blog post, I will be discussing the “Long Road” pattern discussed in chapter 3 of “Apprenticeship Patterns: Guidance for the Aspiring Software Craftsman” by Dave Hoover and Adewale Oshineye. This week, I chose this topic for my blog post because I often worry about not being able to learn or grow more in my field, becoming stagnant because there is nothing else I can learn. Thankfully, this pattern dissuaded those fears of mine and inspired great confidence in my future endeavors.

The quote that this pattern opens with immediately puts much of my concerns about the limits of what I would be able to learn to rest. “‘How long will it take to master aikido?’ a prospective student asks. ‘How long do you expect to live?’ is the only respectable response.” In comparing computer science to Aikido, it implies that no one can possibly learn all that there is to know in computer science. Another quote from this section that makes me even more excited to be a part of this field mentions that for every step you make, the finish line is two steps further away. “For every step you take toward mastery, your destination moves two steps further away. Embrace mastery as a lifelong endeavor. Learn to love the journey.” While this may seem like a disappointing aspect of our field for many, the limitless opportunity for me to grow is why I love this field of knowledge.

I did not think it was possible, but further reading in this section made me even more excited and proud to be in computer science. “Close your eyes and imagine the strangest possible role you could be playing in 10 years’ time. Have fun thinking of the wackiest possible future for yourself. Then think about 20, 30, and 40 years from now. What kinds of experiences do you want to have tried? Imagine that 40 years from now, you are asked to write a short description of your professional history and the biggest influences on your path. Use the output from that thought experiment to help you plan your future career choices.” This quote had me thinking about incredible and outlandish possibilities in this field, which made me even more eager and excited to be in this field than I thought possible.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started